ZBH Courageous Scholarship


**Extended Deadline: Friday, August 16th**

Founded by Zachary Bales-Henry, the ZBH Courageous Scholarship Award recognizes LGBTQ and Allied students across Iowa who work to create welcoming and inclusive spaces for others. To be considered for the scholarship, applicants must:

  • Must be a current high school, college-bound senior, who has been accepted to an accredited college or university OR currently enrolled at an accredited university or college as a freshman, sophomore, or junior and under the age of 24.
  • Must be an out member of the LGBTQ (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer) community or a vocal ally.
  • Must have made significant contributions to the LGBTQ community.
  • Must have an overall grade point average (GPA) of 3.0 or higher on a 4-point scale (or equivalent).
  • Must be active with Iowa Safe Schools and a member of the Iowa GSA Network or Queer Campus Coalition.
  • Must be able to provide two letters of reference.
    • One from a school staff member (teacher, counselor, principal)
    • One from a community member who has worked with the student (work supervisor, church leader, etc.)

If awarded the ZBH Courageous Scholarship, recipients must agree to:

  • Attend the Iowa Safe Schools Spirit Awards gala in October 2019
  • Attend at least one additional Iowa Safe Schools event throughout the 2019-2020 school year
  • Continue to be involved with the LGBTQ community on their college campus

For more information on the scholarship and to apply, please download this 2018-2019 ZBH Courageous Scholarship.